Chevening Scholarship

Chevening Scholarship

Funded by the Foreign and Commonwealth Office, the Chevening Award is a Scholarship provided to eligible candidates looking to study a postgraduate degree in the UK. Candidates must have previous work experience in order to qualify.


Chevening Scholarships are the UK government’s global scholarship programme, funded by the Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) and partner organisations. The programme makes awards to outstanding scholars with leadership potential from around the world to study postgraduate courses at universities in the UK.

The Chevening programme was established in 1983 and has developed into a prestigious international scheme. Chevening Scholars come from 118 countries worldwide (excluding the USA and the EU), and last year the scholarships supported more than 1,900 individuals. There are over 42,000 Chevening alumni around the world who together comprise an influential and highly regarded global network.

The programme provides full or part funding for full-time courses at postgraduate level, normally a one-year Master’s degree, in any subject and at any UK university. Guidance for applicants can be found on the Chevening website.


To be eligible you must:

More information about eligibility can be found on the Chevening website.

How to Apply 

Applications can only be made at certain times throughout the year. The Chevening Award is typically open for applications in August and closes in November.

Please visit the Chevening website for more information.

Closing Date 

November each year

Terms & Conditions 

All Scholarships are subject to Terms & Conditions

Share This