29 September 2017

Prizewinners honoured for stellar achievements

Prizewinners honoured for stellar achievements

The outstanding achievements of Abertay University’s best performing students were celebrated across two prize-giving ceremonies.

An array of prizes were handed to students from across the schools of Science, Engineering and Technology; Social and Health Sciences; Dundee Business School and the School of Design and Informatics (formerly Arts, Media and Computer Games).

A full gallery of the winners is available here.

Ceremonies ran on both Wednesday and Thursday evening, with Principal Nigel Seaton welcoming guests.He said: “We are very proud of our students at Abertay, and these prizewinners have demonstrated outstanding success in their fields of study.

“The University is extremely fortunate in having a substantial community of friends and supporters who have donated prizes – as individuals or families, and as companies, professional bodies and public services.

“We value our links with the wider community, which are both broad and deep. The sponsoring of prizes, which I know is greatly appreciated by our students, is one of the ways in which our friends help us to make Abertay the special place it is.”

Prizes awarded included Dave’s Prize - established in memory of David Carnegie who studied Computer Games at Abertay University - which was awarded to the student on the BA (Hons) Game Design and Production Management programme who produced the best proposal for an external project.

The C J Lang & Son Prize was awarded to the student in the honours year of the BA (Hons) Marketing and Business programme who was deemed to be the best student overall.

Donated by the Sword family, the Sword Prize for Sport was awarded to the student who demonstrated exceptional achievement in competitive sport.

The Alexander D G Kydd Prize was presented in memory of the former Governor of the University and the John Wilson Lawson Memorial Prize went to the fourth year student on the BSc (Hons) Web Design and Communication programme who achieved a high level of performance.

The Lothian Family Awards were made to the student, in each of the four Schools, who in the demonstrated the greatest positive impact, and the Hannah Maclure Prize was awarded from a bequest by the late Myra Falconer in memory of her mother, Hannah Maclure.

Full list of prizes and prizewinners:

School of Science, Engineering and Technology

School of Design and Informatics (formerly Arts, Media and Computer Games)

Dundee Business School

School of Social and Health Sciences

Share This

Pause carousel

Play carousel