16 June 2017

Dare Schools Team Challenge 2017

Dare Schools Team Challenge 2017

Dare school visit to Abertay.

The winners of the Dare Schools Team Challenge have been announced.

The competition challenged school pupils from Dundee to tackle tasks they may face in future workplaces. Aspiring graphics, software and creative producers were tested in their computer, art and music skills to encourage digital entertainment designers of the future.

Now in its 14th year the challenge is backed by Dundee City Council and delivered by Abertay University with support from local games company Hyper Luminal.

The challenge encourages S5 pupils at five city schools to take part and gain valuable insight into teamwork and personal development.

They work in teams to design and build a 2D single-player game played in a web browser using software supplied by Dundee-based YoYo Games.

Lynne Short, convener of Dundee City Council’s city development committee, who handed over the prizes said: “As mother to a 15 year old son that eats, sleeps and breathes gaming this is right up my street and totally exciting!

“Dare Schools Challenge has given a number of young people from Dundee a head start in the computer games industry because of the way it creates a realistic learning environment for aspiring developers. It focuses minds and tightens up the skills needed to launch and sustain a career in this sector.

This year's winners, who were announced on Friday at Abertay's Hannah Maclure Centre, were:

Team prizes

Winning Team: Team Blank (Daniel McInroy, Kieran Houston, Jesse Chan, Jack Teviotdale)

All pupils on the winning team were from Morgan Academy. 

Runner-up Team: Rail Runner (Innes White, Finley Connelly, Callum Arthur)

All pupils on the runner-up team were from Grove Academy. 

Individual Prizes

Outstanding achievement (Audio): Ella Dodan’li (Harris Academy)

Best Artist: Theo Bryden (Harris Academy)

Best Programming: Jesse Chan (Morgan Academy)

Share This