Return to homepage Skip to navigation Skip to site search Skip to main content Skip to footer


Honorary Fellowships given at special ceremony

18 December 2014

Honorary Fellowships were conferred last night (Wednesday 17 December) on three prominent individuals who have made significant contributions to Abertay University.

Ann Markham OBE, Professor Nicholas Terry and Professor David Heeley were honoured for their unique contributions to the University’s development and achievements.

The Fellowships were conferred by Abertay University’s Chancellor, the Rt Hon the Lord Cullen of Whitekirk, in a ceremony attended by friends, family members and university staff.

Professor Nigel Seaton, Principal of Abertay University, said: “It’s a great pleasure to recognise the important contributions these remarkable individuals have made to the life of Abertay University, by conferring Honorary Fellowship upon them.

“They join a very prestigious group of people who have selflessly served the University and helped guide its development into the distinctive and highly regarded university it is today, with areas of excellence ranging from computer games technology to environmental science research.

“We are all very grateful to Ann, David and Nicholas for their many years of hard work and their inspirational leadership in their respective roles. They have all contributed greatly to Abertay’s growth and helped sow the seeds of its bright future.”

Ann Markham OBE served as a member of Abertay University’s governing Court from January 2002 until December 2013, contributing as a committee chair, committee member and a member of multiple panels covering everything from academic staff appointments to student disciplinary appeals.

After retiring from a career in higher education, Ann was appointed Chair of the NHS Education Scotland Board in 2002 and, in 2005, she was re-appointed as Chair for a second 4-year period. She has also been Deputy Chair of the UK Sector Skills Council for Health and Chair of the Scottish Executive’s Healthy Working Lives working group.

Professor Nicholas Terry served Abertay with distinction, starting as Head of the Dundee Business School in 2000, then as Depute Principal from 2004, and Vice-Principal between 2006 and 2013. During this time he also served for more than a year as Acting Principal of the University.

Professor Terry also holds a position as Emeritus Professor of Abertay University, in recognition of his significant international academic profile and substantial service to the University.

Professor David Heeley held the chair of Experimental Psychology and Vision Science at Abertay University from 2001 until his retirement, and was a key figure in supporting Abertay’s development as a distinctive small university with international reach.

The very successful outcome of Abertay’s Enhancement Led Institutional Review in 2010, which Professor Heeley led, exemplified his outstanding qualities – a keen appreciation of academic life from the perspective of both staff and students, a meticulous eye for detail and a passion for improvement.


For media enquiries, please contact Kevin Coe (Director of Communications) – T: 01382 308 452 M: 07850 904 110 E:

Back to News