Dare Academy Finalists 2017

Dare Academy Winners 2017

Dare Academy 2017

Last year saw the successful reboot of the Abertay Dare Competition, where Abertay computer game students form teams and battle it out to be one of six finalists.

Using key ingredients from the world-renowned Dare to be Digital formula, teams applying for the competition went through a tough selection process before the best six were chosen to design, test and create prototypes over an intense hothousing period, which included mentoring and guidance from industry professionals. 

A huge prize package was at stake, including the opportunity to showcase their prototypes at the UK’s biggest games conference, EGX, which attracts over 70,000 people to the NEC in Birmingham every year.

The judging panel for the competition included:

  • Peter Molyneux OBE - (former creative director of Microsoft Games Europe, founder and CEO of Bullfrog Productions, Lionhead Studios and 22cans)
  • Luke Savage - Senior Academic Development Manager at Sony Interactive Entertainment (SIE)
  • Colin MacDonald - (Games Commissioner at Channel 4, Head of All 4 Games, chairman of Speech Graphics)
  • Melissa Knox - (Blazing Griffin)
  • Jim Woods - (SEGA Europe)
  • Paul Farley - (Tag Games)
  • Dave Bradley - (Steel Media)
  • Kirsty Ridgen - (FuturLab)
  • Gavin Smart - (YoYo Games)

The Winning Teams

First Place: Bit Loom with their game PHOGS. The two runners-up: 8Bit10 with their game King of the Castle, and Wee Door with Oil

Bit Loom logo



Find out more

Wee Door logo

Wee Door


Find out more

8bit10 logo

8 Bit 10

King of the Castle

Find out more

Remaining 2017 Dare Finalists

The Remaining Three Dare Finalist Teams

Pocket Sized Hands logo

Pocket Size Hands

Honeypot Espionage

Find out more

LavaLamp Games logo

Lava Lamp

I Am Here

Find out more

Hypnotic Pigeon logo

Hypnotic Pigeon


Find out more

Pause carousel

Play carousel