Return to homepage Skip to navigation Skip to site search Skip to main content Skip to footer


Dare to be Digital 2015 launches worldwide

2 July 2015

The world’s leading computer game design competition for students, Dare to be Digital, launches this week around the world.

Organised by Abertay University, this year’s event sees 16 teams from Finland, the Netherlands, the UK and the USA building games from their home university.

They will then travel to Dundee in August for Dare ProtoPlay, the UK’s biggest independent games festival, where they will show their games to thousands of members of the public.

At the festival, three teams will be picked to go forward for the BAFTA Ones to Watch Award at next year’s British Academy Games Awards.

Professor Gregor White, Acting Head of the School of Arts, Media and Computer Games at Abertay University, said:

“Every year the student teams applying to Dare to be Digital amaze us with their technical skill and creativity, and this year’s selection has been a really tough process.

“Moving with the changes in the games industry, we’ve opened up Dare to allow games that have been started at game jams or during university studies, and we’ve also got teams with up to eight members taking part.

“Creativity, design and originality are critical to stand out and be successful in the highly competitive world of computer games, and Dare to be Digital is recognising that.

“The next global game hit can now come from a team of two or three people, rather than a team of 200 or 300. Our Dare ProtoPlay festival in August will be a very exciting display of the world’s very best student game designers.”

Dare to be Digital 2015 received entries from across Europe, Asia and North America, with half of the entries coming from outside the UK.

The successful teams will receive mentoring from creatively and commercially successful studios including Denki, Giant Sparrow, Kobojo, Ninja Kiwi, Reflections (a Ubisoft studio), Sony, SEGA, Tag Games, thatgamecompany and IGDA Foundation.

This year’s teams will also benefit from Microsoft technology support, including software, mentoring and advice, and the opportunity to pitch their games for Windows 10 and the ID@Xbox programme for Windows and Xbox One.

Liam Kelly, General Manager, Developer Experience at Microsoft UK, said:

“Student developers are important for Microsoft.We embrace developers from all communities and respect their choice of development code.With Windows 10, developers have more code choice than before and can use it across all devices and platforms.

“Through Microsoft’s involvement in Abertay University’s Dare to be Digital competition, we can educate and help foster new UK talent in game development and we are very proud to do so.”

For more information, please visit the Dare to be Digital website and follow #Dare2015.

This year Abertay University was ranked in the world’s best 25 universities to study game design, the only university in Europe to be featured in the annual Princeton Review list.

Dare ProtoPlay is a major event in the Dundee cultural calendar, and was a key part of the city’s successful bid to become the UK’s first UNESCO City of Design.


For media enquiries, please contact Chris Wilson (Communications Manager) – T: 01382 308522 M: 07837 250284 E:


The Dare to be Digital 2015 teams are:

  • 7th Beat Games – University of Cambridge, California College of the Arts and Berklee College of Music
  • 8 Bit Guardians – Huddersfield University
  • Future Pixels – Abertay University
  • Green Bean Conspiracy – Futureworks School of Media and the University of Bolton
  • Hello Sausage – City University London, Glasgow Caledonian University, London South Bank University and the University for the Creative Arts
  • Intimate Systems – University of California, Santa Cruz
  • Mandlebar – Queen's University Belfast, De Montfort University and Dún Laoghaire Further Education Institute, Ireland
  • Mild Beast Games – University of Southern California and Berklee College of Music
  • Pathos Studios – University of Bolton and Bangor University
  • Pictrail – Glasgow Caledonian University
  • Pixel Tailors – University of the Arts London
  • Polyhedron – Glasgow Caledonian University
  • Prullaria – NHTV Breda University of Applied Sciences and ArtEZ Institute of the Arts, Netherlands
  • Sandy – University of Oulu and Kajaani University of Applied Sciences, Finland
  • Sun Bear – Dún Laoghaire Institute of Art Design and Technology, Ireland
  • Yeah Yeah Games – University of Southern California and Berklee College of Music
Back to News