Return to homepage Skip to navigation Skip to site search Skip to main content Skip to footer


BAFTA win for Dare to be Digital students

13 March 2014

Student game developers DOS Studios won a BAFTA Ones to Watch Award last night at the British Academy Games Awards, having been nominated through Dare to be Digital.

The only route to BAFTA’s annual new talent prize is through Dare to be Digital, the eight-week student game design contest run each summer in Dundee by Abertay University.

Applications for this year's contest 2014 are now open at the Dare to be Digital website.

The winning game, Size DOES Matter, was created by team leader Mattis Delerud, Nick La Rooy, Trond Fasteraune, Silje Dahl and Lars Andersen. The game is a fast-paced side-scrollling action game for iOS and Android, where the player has to match different sized blocks to a continuous series of gaps, all timed to high-speed music.

Mattis Delerud from DOS Studios said at the ceremony last night: “We feel amazing for winning the award and could not be here without the help of a lot of people. We would really like to thank the team at Abertay University – keep doing what you are doing. You guys rock!”

Size DOES Matter also won the £25,000 Channel 4 award at last year’s Dare ProtoPlay games festival, meaning a new, updated version of the game will be published later this year by Channel 4.

Colin Macdonald, Channel 4 Games Commissioner, said after the announcement: “I'm absolutely delighted for the team. It's a well-deserved win against some very tough competition. Even more than before I can't wait until it launches in the coming months.”

Previous Dare to be Digital winners include Sophia George, who is currently the V&A’s first ever Game Designer in Residence. Sophia also presented the BAFTA Ones to Watch Award last night to DOS Studios.

BAFTA 2014 winners

Professor Louis Natanson, who leads computer games education at Abertay University, said: “Size DOES Matter is a very worth winner of the BAFTA Ones to Watch Award. The team behind it showed a great deal of promise right from the start of Dare to be Digital, and put a superb game on display for the judges at Dare ProtoPlay last August in Dundee.

“They deserve particular congratulations for winning in the most competitive, most creative year of Dare to be Digital we’ve ever seen. Each year it gets harder and harder for our independent industry judges to pick the 15 teams to take part, and to select just three winners to go forward for the BAFTA Awards.

“The talent that travels to Dundee each summer shows that the next generation of professional game developers are already a force to be reckoned with.”

Independent games industry professionals pick 15 teams of five students from the hundreds of entries, to then travel to Dundee to build brand new games in just eight weeks.

All of the games go on show at the Dare ProtoPlay festival in Dundee’s Caird Hall and City Square on 7-10 August. Last year’s event attracted 13,000 visitors over four days.

Applications to Dare to be Digital 2014 close at 9am on Monday 21 April. Enter now at the Dare to be Digital website.


For media enquiries, please contact Chris Wilson (Communications Manager) – T: 01382 308522 M: 07837 250284 E:


Dare to be Digital is a video game development competition for undergraduates at universities and colleges of art, hosted and run by Abertay University in Dundee.

Teams of student programmers and artists compete in an intensive 'hot-house' development environment over the summer vacation, building fully-functioning prototypes for assessment by industry judges and a public vote at Dare ProtoPlay in Dundee, 7-10 August 2014.

The three winning teams from Dare to be Digital each year become the sole nominees for the BAFTA Ones to Watch Award.

Back to News