Return to homepage Skip to navigation Skip to site search Skip to main content Skip to footer


Dare to be Digital 2013 – the race for a BAFTA begins

10 June 2013


The race for the unique BAFTA Ones to Watch Award begins today with the launch of Dare to be Digital 2013, the world-leading computer game design competition for students.

15 teams of five students have to build a brand new game in just nine weeks. All the games go on show to thousands of members of the public at the free Dare ProtoPlay computer games festival on 8-11 August in Dundee’s Caird Hall and City Square.

Hosted and run by the University of Abertay Dundee, Dare to be Digital gives exceptionally talented students a life-changing opportunity to be mentored by games industry experts – and to take the stage at the BAFTA Video Games Awards as winners.

Professor Louis Natanson, who leads computer games education at Abertay University, said: “This year’s Dare to be Digital is shaping up to be the best ever, with teams taking on new platforms like Ouya and really embracing the games industry’s shift to mobile phones and tablets.

“The 15 teams have a major challenge ahead of them – to build a game to put on show to thousands of members of the public at our free video games festival, Dare ProtoPlay, in August. We wish them all well because this is a very tough, but very rewarding, challenge as they look to start careers in the games industry.”

The 75 student finalists will receive mentoring from members of Dare’s Developer Accord, hugely respected games companies with global reach: Cobra Mobile, Codemasters, Denki, Jagex, Lift London (Microsoft), Ninja Kiwi, Outplay Entertainment, Reflections (a Ubisoft studio), Ruffian Games, Sega Europe, Sony Computer Entertainment Europe and Tag Games.

Professor Natanson added: “We’re delighted at the strong support our partners in the games industry continue to show for Dare to be Digital and our free Dare ProtoPlay computer games festival.

“The students who start Dare today have a very good chance of being hired by some of the most exciting, most successful games companies in the world. We look forward to seeing their finished Dare games – as well as great, great things from them in the future.”

The games will be developed for a wide range of platforms: Android phones and tablets, iPad, iPhone, Ouya, PC and Xbox 360.

The full list of nations represented at Dare to be Digital 2013 is: China, England, India, Ireland, Norway and Scotland.

Dare to be Digital runs from Monday 10 June for nine weeks, with the Dare ProtoPlay computer games festival open to the public from Thursday August 8 to Sunday August 11 in Dundee’s Caird Hall and City Square. Last year saw over 10,000 people of all ages – from toddlers to grandparents – enjoying the fun-packed weekend.

At Dare ProtoPlay three winning teams are announced, who become the sole nominees for the BAFTA Ones to Watch Award, a category created specifically for Dare to be Digital.

For more information, please visit the Dare to be Digital website.

Connect on social media:
Facebook - DareToBeDigital
Twitter - @daretobedigital or with the hashtag #Dare2013


For media enquiries, please contact Chris Wilson (Communications Manager) – T: 01382 308522 M: 07837 250284 E:



The teams for Dare to be Digital 2013 are:

Team – game – platform – country

-    5Cross1 - Food Frisbees - Android - India
-    Crash Course Studios - Escape from Dr Noremac's Lair - PC and tablet - Scotland
-    iKnow - The Unknown - Android phone - China
-    Jimmy and the Scousers - Fix - PC - England
-    Kaleidoscope Games - Deep - Ouya - Scotland
-    Lunavark Studios - Cosmic Couch - iOS and Android - England
-    Mazhlele - Project Heera - Xbox 360 & PC - India
-    Milksteak and the Jellybeans - Attack of the Ghastly Grey Matter - Android tablet - Scotland
-    Ocelot Entertainment - Pygmy Panic - Augmented reality - England
-    Orbit Games - Plannit - Android phone - Scotland
-    Out Late Games - Cair - iPad - Scotland
-    Paper Planes - Milkshake Rush - iOS and Android - England
-    Prehistoric Spatula - DinerSaur - iPad - Scotland
-    Stone Hammer Games - Two Remaining Souls - iPhone - Ireland
-    Team DOS - Size DOS Matter - PC - Norway


The universities participating in Dare to be Digital 2012 are:

-    Communication University of China
-    Dundalk Institute of Technology
-    DSK Supinfogame
-    Image College of Arts, Animation & Technology
-    The Norwegian School of IT
-    Norwich University of the Arts
-    Teeside University
-    University of Abertay Dundee
-    University of Bolton
-    University of Edinburgh
-    University of Gloucestershire
-    University of Salford
-    University of Wolverhampton


Dare to be Digital is a video game development competition for undergraduates at universities and colleges of art, hosted and run by the University of Abertay Dundee.

Teams of student programmers and artists compete in an intensive 'hot-house' development environment over the summer vacation, building fully-functioning prototypes for assessment by industry judges and a public vote at Dare ProtoPlay in Dundee, 8-11 August 2013.

The three winning teams from Dare to be Digital each year become the sole nominees for the BAFTA Ones to Watch Award.


Abertay University launched the world’s first computer games technology degree in 1997, and runs both the UK Centre of Excellence for Computer Games Education and the international game design contest Dare to be Digital. Our unique partnership with BAFTA makes Dare the exclusive pathway to the BAFTA Ones to Watch Award, a major recognition of up-and-coming games talent.

Through the Abertay University Prototype Fund start-up and small developers across the UK have access to funding to create new prototypes and attract additional investment, another practical way Abertay supports the growth of a sustainable, successful games industry.

Abertay has the highest number of Skillset accreditations for computer games courses as well as holding full Skillset Media Academy status, recognition of the important industry skills that are developed on our courses.

Back to News